All notes you create have a basic layout, which consists of the title, borders, resize pad and text area. Additionally, as described in the Attaching Files topic
, if the note has any attached files/folders, there will also be visible the "Attach Pad", which holds the attachments of the note. The "Attach Pad" layout will be detailed in the next topic
, but the default note layout will be explained here, as showed at the image below:
|New Note/Duplicate Button|
|Delete Note Button|
|Text Body Area|
Each one of the elements and areas of the note showed above are going to be explained in the following items:
New Note/Duplicate Button:
Used by default to create a new note and additionally also be used to duplicate the current note, it is only visible when the mouse cursor hovers the title and it is hidden short after it leaves the title. If you simply click this button, it will instantly create a new note, but if you press SHIFT while clicking this button
if will instead duplicate
When the note is being edited, the "new note" button is replaced by the grab pad, which allows the note to be moved, as showed in this picture:
Container of the title of the note, it shows the title text, and it is used for the "Roll note to title" feature. To activate the "Roll Note" feature, i.e. roll the note up and down, first focus any note by making a single click over it, and then use place the mouse over the title area and use the mouse wheel to roll the note up and down. If the note is not rolled up, then roll the mouse wheel forward to make it roll up, and if the note is already rolled to the title, then just roll the mouse wheel backward to make it roll back down. If you click the title, you can also use the "Up"/"Down" keys of your keyboard to roll the notes up and down. Here is how a note looks rolled up and rolled down:
Delete Note Button:
|Note is rolled down...
||and now is rolled up!
Used to recycle or delete permanently the respective note, this button is only visible when the mouse cursor hovers the title and it is hidden short after it leaves the title. Also, when the note is being edited, the "delete note" button is not visible, so use the buttons at the "manage" tab of the configuration window to delete the note.
as commented above this button can be used in two ways: the first one to recycle the note (send it to the recycle bin), and the other to delete it permanently. Like in Windows, these two methods work by using the delete button along with the "SHIFT" keyboard key, in other words, click on it without
| any key being pressed and it will recycle the note, and click on it with the "SHIFT" key pressed and it will permanently delete the note. Don't worry also on using this button as before any actual removal, a confirmation message pops up so you don't delete anything by mistake.|
Note Border: When you place the mouse over the note border, its cursor will change accordingly allowing you to resize the note. This means that if you place the mouse over the right border the cursor will change to a "left-right" image, showing you that clicking and grabbing it will have the note's width increased/decreased.
Text Body Area: This is where the note text stays. The text is a fully-formatted text with
support for inserted pictures and auto-recognition of URL links and e-mails. To open a link, just click on it when not under editing, and CTRL + click on it when under editing.
Click and grab it with your mouse to resize the note in any direction!
Switching Focus with TAB:
In order to allow a quicker and more natural text editing, the note has a special "Tabbing" behavior when under editing to switch the keyboard focus that is similar to Microsoft Word's one. When you want to tab between title and body text of the note, please follow their behaviors below:
- Focus at the body text: Press CTRL + TAB to switch the keyboard focus to the title, and just TAB to insert a "TAB" space.
- Focus at the note title: Press either just TAB or CTRL + TAB to switch the keyboard focus to the body text.
As it is going to be explained on the next topic Alarms Configuration Layout
you can setup your notes to Alarm using large choice of options. In order to help you to identify a note with an alarm set, and to also quickly see the alarm time, as soon as you configure the alarm for the note, 7 Sticky Notes puts a nice Bell icon at the bottom of the note body to show you that this note has an alarm set!
| This icon is always visible while the alarm is active, and it nicely blends to the note color theme. Also, if an "action" is configured for the alarm (will also be explained at the next Alarms Configuration Layout topic), then a small arrow is displayed inside the Bell icon. This icon also provides a quick way to review the alarm time, and action configuration, all you need to do is place the mouse over it, and it will show the configuration on a tooltip! |
And even if the note is rolled up the icon will still be shown, but now smaller and displayed right at the bottom of the title, so it can provide the same function! You can see how the icons and info tooltip look like at the images below: